Custom Views >

Custom View Permissions


Introduction

Before this update, you only had two options: to create a public or a private view. The first was accessible for each and every one of the users of your Ganttic account, the second was only accessible for you. Now you can assign users with specific views with specific filters, coloring, resource groups, etc. Using the user rights settings, it’s possible to remove all the information that the user does not need and show them only the things they need to see. Less information equals a lesser chance for information overload and getting stuck since there is too much going on.

Must-know about this feature

You can activate one of the following three view modes: private, public, selected users. The private mode is obvious – only you can access the view. With the "public" and "selected users" option you can choose whether they can use the view settings to either add filters or change other settings to their needs or liking. If you choose to lock the view settings, they can not make any changes other than navigating on the timeline. If you choose not to lock the views setting, the users can’t permanently overwrite the view settings you have chosen. However, they can make changes on the go. Meaning the changes cannot be saved and if the user is making changes to view settings, the settings won’t be changed for everyone. The users can still navigate on the timeline. In addition, the "selected users" option allows you to choose the users the settings are applied to. All other users are not able to access the view. 

Apply View Permissions 

  1. Click on the 'View permissions' icon on top right
  2. This will open the permissions dialog. 


  3. Select a view mode
  4. Click on the square on the left to make you choice. 


Only you can see, edit, and manage views in private mode. Your team members are able to access it once you make it public or share it with specific users.
In public mode the view is accessible to all users. If you don't want the users to make any changes to the view then lock view settings. You can find the option on the right.

Share the view with selected users

  1. Choose the 'Selected users' option and click on 'Select users'
    This will open the 'User Access' list.

    If you don't want the users to have any option to change the view settings/parameters then apply the 'Lock view settings' option. If you choose not to lock the views setting, the users can’t permanently overwrite the view settings you have chosen. However, they can make changes on the go. Meaning the changes cannot be saved and if the user is making changes to view settings, the settings won’t be changed for everyone. The users can still navigate on the timeline.
  2. Select one or more users and click on 'Save'
  3. You're forwarded back to 'View permissions' dialog.


  4. Click on 'Save' to apply the permissions
  5. Or edit the permissions and/or remove users with access to the view.

    To cancel the settings and close the 'View permissions' dialog simply click on the 'View Permissions' icon on top left. 

Custom Views >

Custom View Permissions