Projects >

Sharing Project Views


Introduction

Giving your team and the other stakeholders the right amount of information is the key to more effective resource planning and communication. High-level resource planning might seem a part of project portfolio management that a manager can do without collaborating with others. It’s high-level planning, after all, there aren’t many details to confirm or discuss. In many organizations, that’s basically how it goes. But it's not the case for all instances. 

Like any other type of planning, high-level resource planning sometimes cannot be done without the input of others or without communicating the plans. Even when only team leaders are doing the planning, the plans must be shared with those that need to see them (clients, management etc). The team members must see which projects they are booked with, the clients need to see the workflow and the important milestones. The resource planning meetings aren’t resource planning meetings without some Gantt charts.

For example, if you share the resource schedule with the client, they can check the progress without sending emails endlessly back and forth. If you share the view with the upper management, you can easily discuss everything that’s going on with the project portfolios without printing anything out or without a detailed brief. If you need to discuss a resource conflict with another manager, you can send them a link beforehand with the problem in focus. You can share a specific project with concerned parties. Similarly to sharing regular custom views, you can improve both project management and project portfolio management related communication by sharing project views.
 

Must-know about this feature

Unlike with regular custom views, a single project view opened in Ganttic can be in regular (non-shared, accessible only by existing admin or regular Ganttic users) or in shared mode that can be used to generate an externally shared URL-based view. In shared mode you are able to specify the view parameters (grouping, coloring, sorting, filtering, default time period, visibility etc) and generate a link/URL for external sharing. To update the view parameters or data contained in the shared URL you have to update the single project view in shared mode first. All changes have to be saved to the view in shared mode. A reload of the shared URL is needed to receive the changes made in Ganttic. Anyone with the URL can see the data contained. The URL has an expiry date that you can set and adjust. The schedule shared via URL cannot be edited by external users but it's possible to use the timeline to change the visible time period. You can change the URL or return to initial non-shared view at any time!

Open a single project view

  1. Click on the "PROJECTS" icon on the sidebar
  2. This will open the list of all existing project views.


  3. Open the project view you want to share
  4. Click on the window icon or select multiple views and hit 'Open'. This will open the view(s) in a separate tab. 

Share a Project View

  1. Click on the 'Project view sharing' icon on top right 
  2. Click 'OK' to confirm the action.

    This will open the project view in shared mode. Generating the URL, editing view parameters and data of the shared URL can be done only in this mode. 'Project Sharing' icon on top left confirms that the shared mode is active. 


  3. Set an expiry date for the shared view/URL (top right)
  4. Click on the calendar icon and pick a date.  


  5. Click on 'Get shareable URL'  
  6. Click 'OK' to confirm.

  7. Copy the link/URL or recreate a new one  
  8. You can find the icons on the right of the link.

  9. Paste the link to the URL bar  
  10. Hit Enter to load the schedule.

    To update the view parameters or data contained in the shared URL you have to update the single project view in shared mode first. All changes have to be saved to the view in shared mode. A reload of the shared URL is needed to receive the updates. Anyone with the URL can see the data contained. 

    Stop sharing the view

    1. Open the project view and click on 'Project view sharing' icon on top right
      Click 'OK' to confirm. This will open the view in shared mode.


    2. Click on "Stop sharing" on top right
    3. Click 'OK' to confirm.


      This will deactivate the URL view but the project view in non-shared mode in Ganttic will remain. To return from shared to non-shared mode click on the '< Project Sharing' icon on top left. 

Want to share single custom views instead? Click here for detailed instructions. 

Projects >

Sharing Project Views