Users & Permissions >

Custom View Permissions


Introduction

As you know (at least we hope you do), you can create an endless number of different views with the custom grouping, filtering, coloring, sorting, default time period and visibility options. The views can give a better overview of everything that's going on. However, sometimes it's better if only selected users can create and edit the views in your account or if certain users can access only selected private or public views. 

Must-know about this feature

Users without the 'Change view settings' permission can't save the filters, groupings etc to a view. They can only see public views and associated data. View, report, project and resource permissions can only be specified for 'User' type logins as admins can see and do everything by default. Access to shared views can be granted only after the views are shared with the user from 'View permissions' section. 

Access to Views

  • Public and shared views 
  • The user is able to access, create and edit parameters of all public and shared custom views.
  • Only shared views 
  • The user is able to access, create and edit parameters of shared custom views only.
To share selected custom views with this user, click on 'Add views' in 'Shared views' section:


Select the views from the list and click on 'Select views'.

NB! Only views that are previously shared specifically with this user will appear in the list. Public and private views are not listed. See how to share views with selected users
here. 

You can see the view appearing in the 'Shared view' section below. Click on 'X' to remove the user's access for this view: 

View Permissions

  • Create and edit private views
  • The user is able to access, create and edit parameters of all private custom views.
  • Change view settings
  • The user is able to edit all public views, including the ones that are only shared with the user.

    Click on 'Save view rights' to apply the permissions. 

Proceed to the 'REPORTS' tab on the left to specify report permissions

Users & Permissions >

Custom View Permissions